RSS

Ah, Florence…

08 Nov

Beth here.

Thanks, Mom. Now I’m all nostalgic and sad because I’m stuck in Indiana and I want to be wining and dining on the Arno… Was that the same night that I ended up drunkenly bursting into operatic song at the market on the Porta Rossa? I know that there was a lot of fabulous wine (and grappa… and limoncello…) consumed at dinner, so it might have been…

If I could hear myself now, I’m sure that I’d be embarrassed, but at the time, I thought I was sounding GREAT (isn’t alcohol wonderful?)! But at least a few (possibly drunken) tourists seemed to agree with me. I think it was you who had the idea to put out a hat when a crowd started to gather and we ended up making enough to cover gelato expenses for at least a few days.

Which is funny, since I’ve tried singing on the street in downtown Chicago only to be met with confusion, glares, people staunchly trying to pretend I’m not there, and the occasional furtive “pity change” thrown my way without making eye contact, which is SO not the point. In Florence, I think most of the people who gathered were American tourists, people who might have been annoyed if I were singing in *their* hometown. But because it was Florence…it was charming; they gathered, they actually listened, they enjoyed.

::shrugs:: If I have to go to Italy to find Americans responsive to opera, that’s fine by me. I still have fantasies where I just run away and live as a high-class bum singing opera on the streets of Florence… Any takers? I could use a guitar player…

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Ah, Florence…

  1. ZW

    November 8, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    What was your repertoire? Maybe it should vary with geography.

     
  2. ladyboadicia

    November 8, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Good question! I sang only Italian repertoire since, you know… Italy. What inspired me to burst into song in the first place was the fact that I noticed we were strolling along the Porta Rossa… which caused me to think of “O Mio Babbino Caro” by Puccini. “Vo’ andare in Porta Rossa e comprerar l’anello…” And later in the song she threatens to throw herself into the Arno… it’s hard NOT to burst into that particular song when you’re walking around Florence (apparently it happens all the time on the Ponte Vecchio…) But yeah, if I were in Germany, I’d probably be moved to sing German rep… French in France, etc.

     
  3. ZW

    November 8, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    “I’ll take ‘Famous Operas Set in Chicago’ for $200, Alex.”

     
  4. ladyboadicia

    November 9, 2007 at 1:00 am

    ::laughs:: Touché.

    I’m not sure even the Jerry Springer opera qualifies as famous, but it certainly sounds hilarious.

    I suppose I could branch out into musical theater to find rep. more Chicago-appropriate and give it another go…

     

Leave a Reply

 
